Who is Soumendra Basu?

Research Areas
Browse significant results in current research areas.

Lab Tour
View our laboratory facilities.

Courses taught by Professor Basu.

A sophisticated distraction.

Meet Professor Basu's grad students.

Email, address and telephone.

Professor Basu batting in a cricket match in Wales, UK, in 2001.

Professor Basu plays for the Commonwealth Cricket Club (of which he is also the Vice-President) in the Massachusetts State Cricket League. Commonwealth Cricket Club is the 2002 Division A Champion.

Professor Basu with the Commonwealth Cricket Club, Division A Champions, 2002

Professor Basu also plays for Team India in the International Tournament run by the Massachussets State Cricket League. Team India won the championship in 2001. Professor Basu's cricket skills were the focus of a 1998 article in Boston University's official newspaper, The BU Bridge.

Professor Basu (third from left) with Team India, 2001 Massachusetts Cricket League International Tournament champions.


Professor Basu being awarded the MVP Trophy by Sir Garfield Sobers.

While playing for his previous team, the Melbourne Cricket Club, Professor Basu was awarded the MVP trophy by Sir Garfield Sobers from the West Indies. Sir Sobers is considered the finest allrounder ever to play this game and was picked as one of five best cricketers of the 20th century. He was knighted for his services to the game of cricket in 1975.


The Rules
You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. Each man that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in and the next man goes in until he is out. When they are all out, the side that's been out comes in and the side that's been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.

When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out, he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who are all out all the time, and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have been out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game.

That's almost as complicated as tennis!

Thanks to the Marlebourne Cricket Club for "The Rules."

That's Professor Basu kneeling in the front row, second from the right. Third from the right is Gary Kirsten, opening batsman for the South African national team. Such tidy uniforms!


Thirsty for more?
A team comprises 11 men. Two batsmen are "in" play at one time. Their aim is to hit the ball as far as possible, and score points (runs) by running the 22 yards between two sets of upright poles set in the ground (wickets) while the fielding team chase the ball.

If the batsman hits the ball past the boundary of the field, he automatically scores 6 runs. The aim of the fielders is to get the batsmen "out" by: hitting the wickets by bowling the ball past the batsman's guard, by catching the ball after the batsman has hit it or by hitting the wicket with the ball while the batsmen are running between wickets.

After the batting team are all "out" the fielding team come "in." The team that wins is the one with the most runs.

The Laws are enforced by referees known as umpires. The most important players are the batsman, bowlers and "wicket keepers" - the fielders who are positioned behind the wicket.

To find out more about cricket....

Try CricInfo.com


Copyright © 2002
Contact Professor Basu. For questions or comments about website, contact webmaster.