published by EmeraldBooks
awards & award-winning authors include....
Rachel Meyer’s paper “Transforming Citizenship: The Subjective Consequences of Local Political Mobilization” (PPST volume 23) has won Honorable Mention from the American Sociological Association Section on Labor and Labor Movements for their Distinguished Scholarly Article Award.
Cedric de Leon, Providence College, won the Barrington Moore Jr. Prize for best article in comparative-historical sociology from the Comparative-Historical Section of the American Sociological Association for "'No Bourgeois Mass Party, No Democracy': The Missing Link in Barrington Moore's American Civil War," PPST Volume 19, 2008, pp. 39-82.
Julian Go, PPST editor, won the Best Book in Global & Transnational Sociology from the American Sociological Association (2012) and the David J. Greenstone Prize for Best Book in Politics & History from the American Political Science Association (2010-2011) for his book Patterns of Empire: the British and American Empires, 1688-present (Cambridge U. Press) and was the co-winner of the 2009 Mary Douglas Prize for Best Book for his book American Empire and the Politics of Meaning: Elite Political Cultures in Puerto Rico and the Philippines (Duke U. Press).
Julia Adams won the Gaddis Book Prize from Yale University for her book The Familial State. That work was featured in the PPST Scholarly Controversies section of volume 19 (2008). Adams has also twice won the Barrington Moore Jr. Prize for Best Article from the Comparative-Historical Section of the American Sociological Association.
George Steinmetz won the Mary Douglas Prize for best book from the Culture section of the ASA, the Barrington Moore Book Award from the Comparative-Historical Section of the ASA, and the Allan Sharlin Memorial Award from the Social Science History Association for his book, The Devil’s Handwriting: Precoloniality and the German Colonial State (University of Chicago Press). Parts of that book had previously appeared in PPST (volume 15) as “Precoloniality and Colonial Subjecting: Ethnographic Discourse and Native Policy in German Overseas Imperialism, 1780s-1914.” Steinmetz is also the winner of Lewis Coser Award for Theory from the American Sociological Association’s Theory Section.
Ivan Ermakoff, contributor to the PPST Scholarly Controversies section, won the Best Book Prize in Comparative-Historical Sociology from the American Sociological Association for his book Ruling Oneself Out.
Mounira Charrad contributor to the PPST Scholarly Controversies section won the Distinguished Book Award in Political Sociology from the American Sociological Association for her book States and Women’s Rights: The Making of Postcolonial Tunisia.
Giovanni Arrighi and Beverly Silver received the American Sociological Association's PEWS book award in 2001 for Chaos and Governance in the Modern World System (University of Minnesota Press). A condensed version of this work was featured in PPST 1999 Scholarly Controversy (Volume 13) entitled "Chaos and Governance: Hegemonic Transitions Past and Present."
John D. French, Duke University, received the Latin American Studies Association Labor Section Award in April 2000 for Distinguished Scholarship for his article, "Drowning in Laws But Starving (for Justice?): Brazilian Labor Law and the Workers Quest to Realize the Imaginary" PPST Volume 12, 1998, pp. 181-218.
Dahlia Sabina Elazar, Tel Aviv University, received the major award for a journal article from the American Sociological Association for "The Making of Italian Fascism: The Seizure of Power, 1919-1922" PPST Volume 8, 1993, pp. 173-219.
Of the 11 Carnegie "SCHOLARS OF VISION" awards granted to "Scholars Chosen for Innovative Scholarship in Education, International Development, Strengthening U.S. Democracy and International Peace and Security" in 2002, three of the recipients are PPST contributors and one is a former PPST editor:
        Uday S. Mehta, Amherst College, won for research on "Constitutional Configurations of the Past: A Comparative Study of India, Israel, South Africa, and the U.S." He participated in PPST’s 1997 Scholarly Controversy (Volume 11) entitled "Rethinking Race: Racial Histories and Their Regimes of Truth."
       Adolph Reed, Jr., New School University, won for research on "Race in American Life: What It Is, What It Isn’t/How It Works, How It Doesn’t." Professor Reed was the featured scholar in PPST’s 2002 Scholarly Controversy (Volume 15) entitled "Unraveling the Relation of Race and Class in American Politics."
       Ian Roxborough, State University of New York, Stony Brook, won for research on "Diagnosing New Dangers: A Sociology of Military Strategy and Threat Assessment." Professor Roxborough is a member of PPST’s editorial board as well as the featured scholar in PPST’s 2003 Scholarly Controversy (Volume 16) entitled "Iraq, Afghanistan, the Global War on Terrorism, and the Owl of Minerva."
       Diane E. Davis, PPST's former editor, received a Carnegie Scholar of Vision Award in 2001 for her research on "Public vs. Private Security Forces and The Rule of Law: The Transformation of Policing in South Africa, Russia, and Mexico."