## < www.necmt.org >

## NEW ENGLAND CONFERENCE OF MUSIC THEORISTS

Deborah Burton (Boston University), President Brent Auerbach (UMass Amherst), Secretary Edward Gollin (Williams College), Treasurer

March 2009

Dear Colleagues,

The 24th Annual Meeting of the New England Conference of Music Theorists will be held on Friday and Saturday April 24-45 at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. We are especially excited this year to hold the NECMT Prize Essay competition: three finalists will present their essays on the topic of "Reminiscence in Music" on Friday afternoon, after which the winner will be chosen by the Program Committee.

This meeting will also see the second incarnation of our Friday morning student workshops, led this time Janet Schmalfeldt (Tufts) and Peter Kaminsky (U. of Connecticut-Storrs). The subject of the workshop will be performance and analysis, with a focus upon music of the early nineteenth century (the "Romantic Generation"). Any NECMT member is welcome to audit the workshop. On Saturday afternoon, there will be a panel discussion entitled *Structure - Expression - Analysis - Performance*, with Professors Schmalfeldt and Kaminsky, joined by Yale's Michael Friedmann.

For the first time, NECMT members will have the opportunity to vote online at <a href="http://necmt.org">http://necmt.org</a>, and instructions on how to do so are included with this mailing. You must be a current NECMT member to vote, so please join up as soon as possible. For the office of president, the two candidates are Peter Kaminsky and myself, and for treasurer, the slate includes Matthew McDonald (Northeastern) and Brian Kane (Yale). Many thanks to the Nominating Comittee—Richard Bass (U. of Connecticut-Storrs). chair, Gary Karpinski (UMass, Amherst) and Anna Gawboy (Yale), and to our Website Coordinator, Stuart Woronecki, for all their hard work.

The 2009 Program Committee — David Kopp (Boston University), chair, Allan Keiler (Brandeis) and Stefan Kostka (U. of Texas, emeritus)— received a large number of intriguing proposals and, with only nine possible speaking spots, the choices were extremely difficult. We hope to have designed a varied program that will interest everyone. We are very grateful to Yale for providing space and financial support for this meeting, and many thanks are due to Prof. Patrick McCreless for chairing the local arrangements, and for generously hosting our annual banquet at his home.

Enclosed are your membership form, voting information, the complete program, and details about local lodging, transportation, parking, and the annual dinner.

We look forward to seeing you in New Haven!

Sincerely,

Deborah Burton, President, NECMT