Boston University Seal Boston University
College of Arts and Sciences
Computer Science Department

CS 111: Introduction to Computer Science, Summer 2006
Contact Info Course Description Books & Software Labs Assignments Examples

Please report broken links to azs@bu.edu
Class meeting Concept Examples from class
Thu 18 May General Java syntax, Standard output
HelloWorld.java
Mon 22 May Standard output
Variables, data types, constants
Assignment statements
Arithmetic
BasicOutput.java
DatatypesAndVariables.java
BasicOutput.java
Arithmetic.java
Tue 23 May Casting
Using pre-defined classes, calling methods.
Math and Scanner class
FunWithCasts.java
HigherMath.java
InputFromKeyboard.java
Wed 24 May Introduction to Graphics (coordinates, drawing, basic Colors)
Calling methods
Passing arguments to method calls
Drawing.java [some code to get us started]
Drawing.java (the drawing I did in class)
UsingString.java
Thu 25 May Object reference variables.
Object creation using new.
Using constructors.
More Graphics: creating custom Colors.
String object references
Drawing.java [updated]
SwappingObjects.java
DefaultConstructor.java
Tue 30 May Accessor and Mutator methods.
Static methods, static member data.
Factory methods for object creation.
AccessorsAndMutators.java
Wed 31 May Expressions, selection using if statements.
LogicalOperators.java
SelectionExample.java
MinOf3Ints.java
Thu 1 June Selection: continued
Comparing floating point numbers,
comparing objects (e.g. String),
Switch statements
ComparingFloatingPoint.java
ComparingStrings.java
ComparingStrings2.java
SwitchExample.java
SwitchFallThrough.java
Mon 5 June Repetition using while loops.
Sentinel-controlled repetition.
Counter-controlled repetition.
SentinelControlledRepetition.java
YesOrNo.java
CounterControlledRepetition.java.java
BouncingBall.java [lab6]
Tue 6 June Repetition using do-while loops.
Repetition using for loops
RepetitionWithDoWhile.java
YesOrNo.java
CountingWithFor.java
CompoundInterest.java
Wed 7 June User-defined classes, member variables, constructors, methods Circle.java
UsingCircle.java
Thu 8 June User-defined classes: constructors, methods
Constant class member data (static & final keywords)
Parameter passing and return values
DrawingCircle.java [some starter code]
Pause.java [to pause the animation]
Circle.java
DrawingCircle.java [my screen saver]
Mon 12 June User-defined classes:
toString, equals methods
Circle.java
UsingCircle.java
Tue 13 June Enumerated types
Introducing arrays
Array indicies, operations.
Temperature.java
UsingTemperature.java
ArrayExample.java
Wed 14 June More array operations
Combining arrays with method calls
Arrays of objects
ArrayInitializerList.java
ArrayOperations.java
ArraysOfObjects.java
Thu 15 June
Review of arrays, lab8 revisited
Introducing Multidimensional Arrays
Vector.java
VectorTester.java
RainfallPerHour.java
Mon 19 June 2-d array continued
RainfallPerHour.java [updated]
ColorPicker.java [some starter code]
ColorPicker.java [my implementation]
Tue 20 June Inheritance, class hierarchies
Constructor chaining, overridden methods
PlayingGames.java
Wed 21 June Access-modifiers revisted (public, protected, private)
Polymorphism
Abstract classes and interfaces
AnimalFarm.java
Mon 26 June Exceptions, handling in try-catch
File Input/Output
PlayingWithFire.java
ReadingFromFile.java
WritingToFile.java



Created by: Aaron Stevens, azs@bu.edu
http://www.cs.bu.edu/courses/cs111
Last update: 26 June 2006