Examples from Class

Please report broken links to azs@bu.edu

Class meeting Concept Examples from class
Tue 4 September A first Python program
chaos.py
Thu 6 September Identifiers, Expressions
Assignment Statements
Output and Input
currencyconversion.py
interactive_09_06.txt
Tue 11 September Definite (for) Loops
Accumulator Pattern
Arithmetic and Math
accumulator.py
factorial.py
quadratic.py
interactive_09_11.txt
Tue 18 September String data type
String operations: indexing, slicing
String library
username.py
interactive_09_18.txt
Thu 20 September String operations: indexing, slicing
String library's split function
Using the for loop with strings and lists
interactive_09_20.txt
Tue 25 September Introducing classes and objects
Graphics concepts
Constructors and methods
interactive_09_25.txt
Thu 27 September Review constructors and methods
Anonymous objects
Shallow/Deep Copy
Custom Colors
interactive_09_27a.txt
interactive_09_27b.txt
Tue 2 October Functions
Formal parameters
Actual parameters
Return valuves
birthday.py
smiley.py
area.py
Thu 4 October Boolean Expressions
Decision logic (if/elif/else)
decisions.py
comparingtext.py
Thu 11 October Indefinite loops
Reading from/ writing to files
average.py
yesorno.py
busyloop.py
readingfromfile.py
Tue 16 Oct Class definition
die.py
Thu 18 Oct Class definition
constructor, instance variables
methods
button.py
Tue 23 Oct lists
statistics
interactive_10_23.txt
Thu 25 Oct lists (review)
dictionaries
interactive_10_25a.txt
interactive_10_25b.txt
stockPrices.py
wordcount.py
Tue 30 Oct inheritance, polymorphism
GUI intro
inheritance.py
Thu 1 Nov GUI dialogs
starter1.py [some starter code]
starter1.rsrc.py [some starter code]
GUIwithDialogs.py
GUIwithDialogs.rsrc.py
Tue 6 Nov GUI Layout Editor, Property Editor
Buttons, TextField, Menus, Events
SimpleIO.py
SimpleIO.rsrc.py
Thu 8 Nov GUI Layout Editor, Property Editor
CheckBox, Radio Group, Combo Box, Events
coffeemenu.py
coffeemenu.rsrc.py
Tue 13 Nov Validating user input
Pick groups for team project
validateInput.py
pickgroups.py
Thu 15 Nov Mutliple window GUI applications
Counter.py
Counter.rsrc.py
Display.py
Display.rsrc.py
Tue 20 Nov Mutliple window GUI applications
Demonstrate urllib
httptest.py
Thu 29 Nov Using the DB API
Running SQL queries from Python
baseball.py


Created by: Aaron Stevens, azs@bu.edu
http://www.cs.bu.edu/courses/cs108
Last update: 29 November 2007