CS101 Spring 2008
This is a tentative schedule, subject to adjustment as the term evolves.
Check http://www.cs.bu.edu/courses/cs101/ for updates, assignments, labs, etc.

The schedule page has been split; January-February are listed below March-April.

Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 04 Mar Python: Indefinite Loop PPL 1.7 Python: Repetition
Thu 06 Mar Data Collections: Arrays and Linked Lists CSI 9.1 - 9.3 Arrays and Lists QUIZ 3
LABS Lab 8: Python: Definite Loop HW08, due 3/19
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 11 Mar SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS
Thu 13 Mar SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS
LABS SPRING BREAK - NO CLASS
Date Topics Readings Assignment
Tue 18 Mar Algorithms: Sorting CSI 9.4 Sorting
Thu 20 Mar Algorithms: Searching CSI 9.5 Searching
LABS Lab 9: Sorting HW09, due 3/26
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 25 Mar Operating Systems CSI 10.1, 10.3, 10.4 Operating Systems
Thu 27 Mar File Systems
Basic UNIX Commands
CSI 11.1 - 11.2 File Systems QUIZ 4
LABS Lab 10: File Systems HW10, due 4/2
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 01 Apr Networking: Topology, Packet Switching, Protocols CSI 15.1 - 15.2 Networking
Thu 03 Apr Networking: IP Addressing, Domain Name System CSI 15.3, TBA Internet
LABS Lab 11: Networking HW11, due 4/9
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 08 Apr History of the Internet Internet
Thu 10 Apr The World Wide Web and HTML CSI 16.1 - 16.3 WWW QUIZ 5
LABS Lab 12: HTML and Dreamweaver HW12, due 4/16
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 15 Apr World Wide Web Applications TBA Web Applications
Thu 17 Apr Crytography and Ciphers CSI 12.4 Cryptography
LABS Lab 13: HTML and Dreamweaver HW13, due 4/23
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 22 Apr Information Security Information Security
Thu 24 Apr Computer Games ComputerGames QUIZ 6
LABS Lab 14: Flash Animation HW14, due 4/30
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 29 Apr Off Topic Lecture Day
Thu 01 May Exam Review
Tue 06 May A1 Final Exam 9 am - 11am @ SAR 102
Wed 07 May B1 Final Exam 9 am - 11 am @ SED 130

Older material here...

Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Thu 17 Jan Intro/Administration
Overview of Computing
CSI 1.1-1.3 Introduction
LABS Lab 1: Set up accounts, overview of CS labs. HW01, due 1/23
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 22 Jan History of Computing
Computer Terminology, Scientific Notation
CSI 5.1 History
Computer Terminology
Thu 24 Jan Numbering systems
Binary numbers
CSI 2.1, 2.2 Number Systems
LABS Lab 2: Number Representation HW02, due 1/30
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 29 Jan Numeric and Text Data Encoding
Data Compression
CSI 3.1 - 3.3 Numbers and Text
Thu 31 Jan Audio, Image, and Video Data Encoding CSI 3.4 - 3.6 Audio, Images, Video
LABS Lab 3: Text encoding and compression HW03, due 2/6
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 05 Feb Switches, Gates and Circuits CSI 4.1 - 4.4 CircuitsGates
Thu 07 Feb Inside the CPU:
Adder and Arithmetic Logic Unit
CSI 4.4, 4.7, 5.2 Computer Architecture QUIZ 1
LABS Lab 4: Gates and Circuits HW04, due 2/13
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 12 Feb Controlling the CPU
Machine Language
CSI 5.2 (pp 123-130),
7.1 - 7.4
Low-Level
Programming
Thu 14 Feb Assembly Language and
High Level Languages
CSI 7.5, 8.1 - 8.2 Programming
Languages
LABS Lab 5: Low level languages HW05, due 2/21
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 19 Feb MONDAY SCHEDULE - NO LECTURE A Taste of Python
Thu 21 Feb Python: Introduction, Input and Output PPL 1.1 - 1.2 Python: Introduction QUIZ 2
LABS Lab 6: Python: Introduction HW06, due 2/27
Date Topics Readings Lecture Slides Assignment
Tue 26 Feb Python: Variables, Arithmetic, the Definite Loop PPL 1.2, 1.7 (def. loop) Python: Numbers
Thu 28 Feb Python: Decision Making PPL 1.6 Python: Decisions
LABS Lab 7: Python: Decisions HW07, due 3/5